top of page

Rise2Work: Experience vs. Expectation

Behind everything we do there is a feeling that we hope to experience (achieve) as a result of our expectations. Examples:

  • I'll be happy when I get this job

  • I'll be happy when I passed this exam

  • I'll be happy when I reconnect to an estranged friend or relative

  • I'll be happy when I meet new people

  • I'll be happy when I move

  • I'll be happy when I am out of debt

  • I'll be happy when its calmer

  • I'll be happy when I have a new car

  • I'll be happy when I am out of this relationship

  • I'll be happy when I am married

  • I'll be happy when I have children

But what happens when these expectations are not on time or going as planned? And what will we do if we fail to attain the expected? The answer is that despite the experience we're going to keep rising to work on our moods, our energy, and our health . More importantly, we are going to make the time to feel good, even when the experience is unsatisfactory. By working to encourage ourselves we're learning to experience the feeling of making happiness a habit now despite waiting for future conditions (expectations).

Work2Rise: No matter the results we must always continue to work on ourselves (feelings and energy) every step of the way.

Words4-ur.Wisdom: We can only control our experience (feelings) and not our expectations.

bottom of page